CIWM/Wamitab Operator Competence Scheme

Under the Environmental Permitting Regulations a permitted facility that receives waste or recycling materials to operate compliantly must have competent personnel termed the Technically Competent Manager (TCM).

Who is it for?

Under the CIWM/Wamitab scheme; Operators must demonstrate competence in the type of facility for which they have responsibility as the TCM person. Managers or supervisors achieve this by obtaining an Operator Competence Certificate for the type of facility and the type of waste/recyclate that the facility is permitted to receive.

What will I Gain?

On successful completion you will receive a CIWM/Wamitab Operator Competence Certificate along with your portfolio which is a record of your achievement to keep as a reference. You will then be able to be the Technically Competent Manager (TCM) for the site.

How does it work?

Under the scheme facilities are listed under Risk headings for each type of facility - the qualification is achieved by demonstrating competence in each appropriate unit.

  • Low Risk – 4 units (e.g. Storage)
  • Medium Risk – 6 units (e.g. Transfer & Treatment Non-Hazardous, End of Life Vehicle, MRF, Composting, AD)
  • High Risk – 12 units (e.g. Hazardous, Clinical, Landfill, Incineration)

An approved Wamas Assessor will be assigned to you following the registration process. They will offer all the support and guidance to assess you through the qualification. The qualification is assessed "on the job" at your place of work.

You will be required to build a portfolio of evidence which will be assessed against the set Wamitab standard; the evidence will be collect by carrying out normal day to day duties.

Further information on specific qualifications can be found below:

To discuss further and costings please contact us.

NOTE: As a Technically Competent Manager (TCM) for the site you should ensure that you maintain your competence and keep up to date with legislation, guidance and good practice. In order to demonstrate this all TCM persons are required to demonstrate this by successfully completing a Continuing Competence test relevant to their initial qualification (or facility type if Deemed Competent/EA Assessed) every two years.